“How wild it was, to let it be.”

Wild, Cheryl Strayed

Hey Readers!

Today, I am going to talk a bit about the book Wild by Cheryl Strayed! If you are feeling a little bit lost in life and trying to figure out your next move, this is a great book to read. If you haven’t already read or watched the movie, Wild is Cheryl Strayed’s biography about how her life felt like is was out of control by the age of 22. Her marriage had fallen apart, her mother had died and she felt that her life was a mess. To find herself, she hiked the Pacific Crest Trail with no experience.

I found this book to be extremely inspirational. I was the same age as Cheryl when she started the hike in the book, and although I had significantly less traumatic issues in my life, I had related to that feeling of being lost. In a way I still am. However, her experience had taught me a lot of things. For one, I began to think about myself more and about what I wanted, so instead of pursuing a degree I hated, I began to focus on what I loved about my current degree I was in. I began to think about friends and which friends were working with my life, and which ones I should let go and who were making me unhappy. This was the beginning part of finding myself. I’m still in that pursuit, however, at the time I was still in school put the rest off until now. It was like I sorted through my life and figured out what was helping and what wasn’t. Like her sorting out her life in the woods, I was attempting to do that at home as a broke university student. I have a lot more to do. I plan on travelling (maybe not hiking like Cheryl because I am FAR more lazy) and putting myself out there to new experiences. That’s what I got from the book. She became bold and fearless and learned to forgive herself for her past. She just had some very relatable feelings and it was amazing to see how she handled a tough time in her life.

So, I recommend this book to anyone going through what I’m going through and trying to find their way. Your twenties is a stressful time where you have no idea where you’re going and what you should be doing and life is crazy and you’re still learning about the world, so this book could be helpful for you. If you’re out of your twenties going through emotional turmoil or anything significant, I recommend it to you. If you’re just looking for a good read, the book is set up as an interesting story, not like a self help factual boring book, I recommend it to you. I recommend this book to everyone really, and I gave it a 5 star rating on Good Reads (great app! Get it and follow me and I’ll follow you back).

Alright! That’s all for now! You can leave your thoughts and opinions in the comments if you’d like! Any recommendations are MEGA appreciated, I’m always hunting down a good book, and if you want us to review something let us know!

– Erin

Leave a Reply

