Power Rangers and Thirteen

Hey Sweet Readers!

Happy Friday! I hope you are having a great night evening off and have a fantastic weekend! I had a couple movie/ tv series ideas I wanted to talk about!

I did something super bad today! I went to a movie and then I came home and binge watched a tv series. There was only 5 episodes, but 5 episodes in a day is just as terrible and a movie too. Yikes. Oh well, so worth it.

So, I definitely went and saw Power Rangers. I’ve basically seen everything else so I went to that, and it was surprisingly good! If it was on Netflix, I would have given it about a 3.5 stars, but only because I’ve seen better movies. It was a typical teen superhero movie. You have your diverse group of teens, which I always love. Blue power ranger was on the autism spectrum, which I was super impressed with! Love that idea! The jokes were all typical lame and cheesy superhero movie jokes that you still secretly love, and they did pay tribute to the original power rangers by playing the theme song! So make sure you’re listening when you go! The storyline was pretty basic in terms of they wanted you to know where power rangers came from and how they got together, nothing spectacular, but definitely not bad by any means. Also, super important, so definitely a good and much needed first movie! I’m very excited to see where they go from here!

Ok now for my binge watching of 5 episodes. The show is called Thirteen and is based in Britain. It’s a BBC show and I think it was just added to Netflix. It’s about this girl who was kidnapped when she was 13 and manages to escape. The episodes are about the police and her family trying to find her kidnapper, but stories keep changing, and different situations keep popping up raising lots of questions. It’s hard to tell when she’s lying or telling the truth. I know that description sucks, but I don’t want to give too much information away. You definitely go on a rollercoaster of emotions. You start off feeling extremely sad for the family and the girl who has been missing for 13 years. Then you feel angry or frustrated because they are unable to find the kidnapper. Then you’re mad at her, because you feel like she’s lying about something, but you always come back to realizing that ultimately she is a victim.

I hope you like either of these options for film friday! Let me know if there’s something you think I should watch!

Erin

Leave a Reply

