I fell in love in Lisbon

Hi everyone!

Back for a Travel Tuesday, and I hope you all enjoyed our mini travel Western Canada series these past three weeks! It was super fun to dive into a place that we call home, but is actually packed full of great travel stops!

Since we did that mini series I haven’t had the opportunity to share my Portugal trip with you all!

So today I’d love to talk about Lisbon and the surrounding area. My family and I spent three days in Lisbon, and that was NOT ENOUGH. I love Lisbon! It is chocked full of so many cute streets, restaurants, and shops!

Oh and also Lisbon has an amazing aquarium that I (of course) had to drag my entire family to, and they have a Sunfish there. Now Sunfish are very hard to keep in aquariums because they need the different temperature layers that deep water (like the ocean) creates. But because Lisbon aquarium is just designed amazing (they have one of the biggest tanks in the world) it is big enough to create these stratified layers the Sunfish needs! I seriously fell in love with this Sunfish and I now have a key chain of him that I tote around with me and show everyone.

IMG_3384.jpg

My dad is a musician and he really wanted to go see some Fado (and is was his birthday so of course we had to!) and we ended up in this amazing location.

You all know now that I love Dan Brown with a fiery passion, and we saw this Fado concert in the old water reserve of the city. I’m not kidding it was that exact final scene in Inferno in Israel where they see the Dante concert in the old water reserve.

IMG_3415.JPG

As you can tell I saved the world, I made it just in time to stop the plot against the world.

But seriously, would highly recommend.

The second place I’d love to mention is in the surrounding area of Lisbon and a blogger actually recommended it to me! Thanks to Salt of Portugal for recommending that I check out Sintra! It is an old resort town filled with tiny streets and cool shops (sensing a theme?). My parents and I decided to climb up the hill/mountain to the castle at the top, and the views were absolutely stunning. It was for sure the most tourist-centered place we went but it was worth a stop for sure! For those who have been to Sorrento Italy, it had a similar vibe to that!

The castle was also amazing and looked like something out of a Shrek film (thanks to the Lonely Planet guide book for that sound bite)

IMG_3270.jpg

Ok everyone, that’s all for Portugal! Enjoy your week and we’ll talk soon!

Kathleen

3 Replies to “I fell in love in Lisbon”

Leave a Reply

